Press Release

Safetipin selected as finalist in Access Category of EQUALS in Tech Awards 2017

ITU and UN Women are pleased to announce the 15 finalists for 2017 EQUALS in Tech Awards. As the flagship event of the EQUALS global network partnership, the annual award ceremony recognizes outstanding projects and programmes around the world that help women and girls cross the digital divide.

This year, nearly 300 nominations were received from around the globe. These included submissions from a wide range of organizations working to help women to “bridge the digital divide”, including those representing the private sector, government, and civil society.

The 15 finalists represent innovative initiatives that have realized significant results in some of the areas of the world where women are most oppressed. The results of these initiatives have brought real change in the communities that they serve and have opened doors for women to critical digital financial and social benefits.

Prizes are awarded for outstanding achievement and innovative strategies, in three categories: Skills, Access and Leadership.

Nominations in the Access category represent initiatives seeking to improve women and girls’ digital technology access, connectivity and security. Those in the Skills category support the development of women’s and girls’ skills in science, technology, engineering and math. Initiatives in the Leadership category promote women in decision-making roles within the information and communication technology field.

One winner from each category will be selected by a committee of experts from ITU, UN Women and the EQUALS Advisory Group—composed of previous awards winners.

2017 EQUALS in Tech Awards Finalists

Access Category

Safetipin (India) | African Teen Geeks (South Africa) | Bangladesh Ministry of Planning (Bangladesh) | Lebanese Alternative Learning (Lebanon) | Department of Women and Child Development and Social Welfare, West Bengal (India)

Skills Category

Digital Citizen Fund (Afghanistan/US) | Digital Opportunity Trust (Canada) | Pakistan Ministry of IT & Telecom (Pakistan) | She Codes (Israel) | Miss Africa Digital Program (Kenya)

Leadership Category

Sula Batsu Cooperativa (Costa Rica) | Sheva and Fundacion Tigo (Guatemala)| Group Function Sustainability and Social Affairs (Sweden) | Bangladesh Women in Technology (Bangladesh) | Unistream (Israel)

Learn more about each initiative of the 15 finalists at UN Women